The Frozen Donkey Wheel Revisited

28 03 2008

Alright, so today’s the day you usually get an episode recap from me, but we’re stuck in reruns for the next 4 weeks.  And it’s not a particularly blazing week for LOST news, so I thought I’d do something that I don’t typically do here on the blog–I’m going to use my ESP on Team Darlton, and try to decipher what the Frozen Donkey Wheel scene is.

This is spurred on largely due to the fact that I’ve actually received a few hits on the blog from Google searches for “The Frozen Donkey Wheel” and LOST.  (For those of you that don’t know what the heck “The Frozen Donkey Wheel” is, please read the previous post for a refresher.)  I got to thinking, why would someone visit this blog looking for info on the Frozen Donkey Wheel?  They obviously know what the Frozen Donkey Wheel is, either by listening to the podcast, or by word of mouth, or they wouldn’t be doing a search on it.  So they’re not just looking to know what Carlton & Damon said–they’re looking for further insight.  Far be it from me to withhold what I think might be a decent guess as to what I think it is.

But before I reveal my guess, let me say this–trying to read Team Darlton’s mind, with all of their clever plot twists and turns, is mostly an exercise in futility.  That’s why I leave fan fiction to others, and focus mostly on post-episode reviews, deeper thought on what’s passed on screen, and teasers for upcoming action.  So if I get this right by some chance, it’s much more about luck than it is anything else.

Additionally, it’s important to note that only last year was the code-name even remotely relevant to the action on screen.  the Snake in the Mailbox scene was dubbed as such almost exclusively based upon the fact that it was a surprise revelation to LOST’s storytelling–akin to what it might be like to get your mail every day for years but then to suddenly find a snake in the box.  Anyway, my point here is that I’m not even sure that the Frozen Donkey Wheel as a title even has any true relevance.

But let’s break it down for a minute.  Donkeys don’t have wheels, so even if we’re taking it literally, it must be referring to a wheel on a cart that a donkey is pulling.  And donkeys aren’t exactly known for their speed, so the wheel can’t be moving that fast to begin with.  So what if the wheel gets frozen?  Is it frozen in the literal sense with respect to temperature, or is it frozen due to it getting stuck?  What might make the most sense with respect to my theory on what it pertains to, is to reference other comments made in Damon & Carlton’s podcast.  They jokingly referred to their office smelling like Mexico–because they were hinting at donkeys.  So if in their mind, the fictional donkey is from Mexico, and the wheel of the cart he’s pulling is literally frozen, then either the weather quickly changed in Mexico, or the wheel is no longer where we once thought it was.

polar-bear-remains-40pct.jpg

If that’s too confusing, let me get right to it–I think they’re talking about teleportation of some sort.  I know that’s pretty far-fetched, even for a show like LOST, but bear with me for just a minute.  In fact, polar bear with me for a minute.  Although the discussion of why polar bears can exist on the island is a topic for another day, the discussion of why Charlotte found a polar bear in Tunisia seems like it fits right in.  Maybe naming the secret scene “The Melted Polar Bear Igloo” would be too obvious (or stupid), but I think you might see somewhat of a correlation there.  And that leads me to what I believe the scene will be.

Although we’ve seen glimpses of transportation both on and off the island through physical means, I believe that Ben has another way off the island–and I’m not talking about the submarine.  I believe that the temple is going to turn out to be more than expected, and will reveal a special way on and off the island–one involving some sort of teleportation.  One that previous inhabitants have used to send polar bears to Tunisia.  One that past and future Ben has used to get off and on the island.  One that Ethan, Mr. Friendly, and Richard Alpert have used to go back and forth.  And one that the Oceanic 6 are going to use to get off the island at the end of this season.  Here’s my crazy, off-the-wall prediction for the Frozen Donkey Wheel scene–it will show the Oceanic 6 actually leaving the island, and it will be via means that have been heretofore unrevealed.

So…that’s my crazy talk for the day.  The only way to let me know what you think I’m smoking is to leave a comment below…

Actions

Information

6 responses

12 04 2008
Ben

Well, I’ve read a bunch of theories so far and yours makes the most sense.
Then again, you never know with Lost.
But if I was a gambling man, I’d probably place a bet on your theory.

12 04 2008
hablodepablo

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment Ben! And thanks for backing my theory! I’d also agree that with LOST, you really never know. And it does seem to take things from the realm of super-science to the realm of science fiction. But there are certainly a few signs that point to the possibility…I guess we’ll find out in a month and a half!

13 04 2008
Ell

I concur.

I believe there are rumblings that the Oceanic 6 will not be using the freighter people to get off the island (makes sense from what we have seen of them), therefore there must be another way.

13 04 2008
hablodepablo

Good point! The previews of the next episode after the hiatus shows Keamy from the freighter holding Alex hostage in front of Ben’s house in the Barracks. Based on that, I wouldn’t think that the freighter people are going to be the ones to get the Oceanic 6 off the island.

BTW, if you haven’t seen the preview yet, it’s here:

30 04 2008
DAruguete

Frozen Donkey Wheel – Cold A$$ Circle – The island is located in the arctic circle. It’s a perfect place to hide a tropical island.

15 05 2008
LOST Challenge of the Week: Season 4, Episode 12: “There’s No Place Like Home” « interLOST

[…] First, let me just say that even though I’m still getting a great deal of hits from searches on The Frozen Donkey Wheel, I’m going to save that discussion for the challenge prior to the next episode.  We know we’re not going to see it tonight, so despite the anticipation, let’s get to that later.  If you didn’t get to read my prediction back in March, or want a refresher of what I think it will be, you can go here: https://interlost.wordpress.com/2008/03/28/the-frozen-donkey-wheel-revisited/ […]

Leave a Reply

