LOST Challenge of the Week: “The Candidate”

3 05 2010

Hey there everyone, sorry for disappearing for ther last week, but the hiatus came at a good time for me, and I decided to go ahead and use it!  My batteries are now completely recharged, and I’m eager for what’s in store as we charge through the final 4 episodes of the show.

Before I get into the challenge this week, let me first touch on a couple of things.  First of all, I just want to thank each of you who come to this blog on a regular basis.  I’m going to write up a post getting into more detail about how this thing all started, what I learned from it, and what’s next after the show ends.  But really, I can’t thank all of you enough for continuing to make writing these entries worthwhile.  I just wanted to say that I appreciate all of you that stop by.

Next up is a cool article about LOST and the writers that I found on Wired magazine’s site.  Be warned, there are some minor spoilers there, so if you don’t want to know *anything* about the last 4 episodes, don’t go there.  But IMHO, it’s more about whetting your appetite than anything else, so I thought I’d share.  You can check it out here: http://www.wired.com/magazine/2010/04/ff_lost/all/1

By the way, if you’re looking to stay spoiler-free, be very, very careful on the web right now.  There are some huge spoilers floating around (which, mind you, may or may not actually be true) that could really wreck things for you if you’re not careful.  I got unintentionally spoiled for the Season 3 finale, and it was really frustrating.  Trust me folks, it’s not worth it.  You’ve waited 6 years for this finale, avoid the spoilers!

Finally, I wanted to share with you a silly little thing I spotted on ABC’s site last week.  It’s pretty funny, in a demented sort of way.  And it’s 100% spiler free.  You can check it out here: http://abc.go.com/watch/clip/lost/SH006723620000/165261/259429

Alright, on to the challenge for this week!  Again, these are getting tougher and tougher…to the point that I’m unsure if it even makes sense to continue to throw them out there.  But maybe this week will be more straightforward.  On the assumption that this week’s title refers to Jacob’s replacement, perhaps we’re going to find out that info this week.  After all, there are only 4 episodes left!  So here’s your challenge:

Who is the candidate?  And if it refers to Jacob’s replacement, what does the candidate need to do to become Jacob’s successor?

Good luck with that!  And more importantly, I hope you enjoy LOST’s return this week!  Can you believe that in 3 weeks it’ll all be over?  Enjoy it while you can!

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 05 2010
Mike P

Are we getting anywhere? Are we REALLY?

Or are we just treading water until the final reveal?

I’m not getting the feeling that I know anything more than the first episode of this season. I feel like I’m just being dragged along until the end.

5 05 2010
DDay

We’re well into the climax now. I think the guessing should probably stop on my side now- except for this last attempt :-). Sun and Jin are dead- along with Sayid- who goes out a hero, and with Lapidus who dies on the sub. That leaves Hurley, Sawyer and Jack as the named candidates and Kate with nothing much to do but cry about Claire and get over a gunshot wound. As for the ability to kill candidates, the bomb was self inflicted when Sawyer pulled the wires. This more or less evens things out for Jack’s desire to touch off Jughead which apparently killed Juliet.

I have to say, they’ve not really done Kate’s character much justice this season but I have a feeling that’s going to change in the next three weeks. MIB needs Hurley, Jack and Sawyer dead- together. Kate will probably become bait of sorts. Widmore will want the candidates alive but won’t care less about Kate.

Sayid told Jack “You’re the one” before he ran with the bomb. He also mentioned Desmond’s location. Since this was said, and since this is Lost, Jack will not be the one. I am more convinced that Jack and Kate will be the Adam and Eve bodies in the cave, Sawyer will commit suicide saving them and Hurley will be “the one”…

Leave a Reply

